2019 NRRA Annual Conference Awards-Press Releases

Northeast Resource Recovery Association is pleased to have presented 6 awards this year. These awards provide an opportunity for NRRA Members, Vendors and Staff to “give credit where credit is due” and accolades for “jobs well done”. 
NRRA  presents these awards to recognize the ongoing efforts of our Members and Vendors.
We wish to extend a special thank you to NH the Beautiful for their tremendous support of municipal and school recycling programs from year to year!
NRRA presented the following awards at an awards luncheon held on Monday, May 21, 2018.  To see the full press release for each award, just click on the link

Municipal/Business Award Winners

NH the Beautiful’s 2019 Environmental Stewardship Award- Marc Morgan, Lebanon, NH

Most Programs through NRRA in 2018 – Walpole, NH (accepted by Ben Hoy, Recycling Center Manager)

NRRA 2019 Outstanding Recycling Facility Brochure & Calendar – Keene Recycling Center, Keene NH (accepted by Donny Tebaldi, Keene Recycling Center)

NRRA 2019 Rookie of the Year – Rick Plankey, Manager of the Hancock, NH Recycling Center

NRRA 2019 Business of the Year – Schnitzer Steel Northeast, Concord NH (accepted by Ira Gross, Schnitzer Steel NE)

Sami Izzo “NRRA 2019 Recycler of the Year” – Michael Durfor, Retired Executive Director of NRRA


2019 NRRA School CLUB Recycling Conference Awards

The following awards were presented to deserving students, teachers and school facility personnel during the 10th Annual School Conference Awards Luncheon on Tuesday, May 21, 2019

NH the Beautiful School Recycling Innovation Grant Award  ($500)     Owen Harrington, Dunbarton Elementary School, NH – See Winning Essay Here

Best Composter Award
John Stevens, Somersworth Middle School, NH

Individual Rookie Recycler of the Year
Alex Kittridge, White Mountains Regional School District #36, Whitefield, NH

School Rookie Recycler of the Year
Mountain Village Charter School, Plymouth, NH

Outstanding Community Involvement
Jessie Jennings, Plymouth Recycling Center, NH

Facilities Staff Recycler of the Year
Larry Hewey, Loudon Elementary School, NH

Teacher Recycler of the Year
Stephen Fitzgerald, Nashua High School North, NH

Special Recognition Award
Ryan Hickman, Ryan’s Recycling, California

Special Recognition Award
Greta Thunberg, School Strike for the Climate, Sweden


Comments are closed.